Do you like chocolate?

Do you like chocolate? Two-Michelin-starred celebrity chef and Masterchef the Professionals co-presenter Marcus Wareing does.

Chilled chocolate!
Chilled chocolate!

At the time of going to press I have yet to get Rick Stein’s and Jamie Oliver’s opinion, but I’m working on it. Meanwhile, this one’s for you Marcus!

Lindt Weihnachts-Mandel

A special Christmas chocolate sent by my lovely friends in Germany, Burnie and Greg Bear. Did you know that their bearants are published authors too? Please check out their Kindle site here. I love their books!

IMG_4731

This very yummy milk chocolate bar had whole almonds, nut cream, and a touch of cinnamon and coriander. Delicious! 

5 paws out of 5

North Chocolates- handmade in Newcatle upon Tyne

Yay, some more tasty North chocolates to try from Boo Boo Bear Green and mummy!! *does happy dance*

a) Mulled Spice- “pure Christmas spirit”

I’ve had the very good fortune of trying North chocolates before. Their chocolates are made with less sugar and no vegetable fats, but more cocoa and cocoa butter- a winning formula! The dark chocolate Mulled Spice bar was 70% cocoa and rich with the taste of cinnamon, orange and nutmeg- basically Christmas in a bar! 5 paws out of 5

b) Dark with Smoked Salt

As everyone knows, I do like a salty chocolate- it’s a combination that shouldn’t work but does. And my word does this work. Each bite had my taste buds exploding in smokey salty chocolatey bliss! I’ve definitely tried nothing like this before. Highly recommended. 5 paws out of 5

Al Latte Cremosa, Novi

I very much enjoy seeing Arpad’s twitter adventures in sampling craft beers, both in London and around the world. And if you need a London beer and pub guide you could do worse than visiting this website. On a recent trip to Italy Arpad’s humans were kind enough to obtain this velvety creamy chocolate bar for me. It was made by Novi, who have been manufacturing in Piemonte since 1903.

IMG_1185

A creamy smooth yummy chocolate, I give this (yes, you guessed it!) 5 paws out of 5

Chipotle Chilli Dark Chocolate, Tree Frog Chocolate Co.

I can’t think of lovelier and kinder friends than Sally, Jim, and TiredTeacherTed. It’s almost been a whole year since we last met up at Cadbury World- let’s rectify that soon! Meanwhile, thank you for sending me two unusual and very different tasting chocolates. First up, Chipotle Chilli Dark Chocolate- this was handmade in Cheshire with ethically sourced cocoa, min. 60%. The smoked chilli chipotle added a nice spicy dimension to this delicious chocolate bar. Certainly not one for the faint hearted! 4.5 paws out of 5

Lemon Meringue, Gnaw

Gnaw make over 30 different flavours of chocolate in Norfolk (or Gnawfolk) and support red squirrel preservation. This one was a Belgian white chocolate with meringue pieces embedded onto the surface. This was simultaneously sweet, tart, zingy and did I mention sweet? Almost the polar opposite of the chilli chocolate above! I give this 4.5 paws out of 5

IMG_1173IMG_1140

7 thoughts on “Do you like chocolate?

  1. Another fine Chocolate Blog my Furiend. Yummy chocolate from dear BoboBosing I shall have to try that one. Going to France and Corfu this year I shall look out for some special chocs for you. Big Hugs Jeremy

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

